About The 2016 Rising Stars of Physics Workshop

This workshop will bring the next generation of physics academic leaders together for two days of scientific discussions and informal sessions aimed at navigating the early stages of the academic career. In addition to research presentations, we will hold panel discussions with MIT and invited faculty on issues relevant to academic careers, have opportunities for informal networking with faculty members at MIT, and set aside time for the participants to get to know each other and form connections that will hopefully persist through time.

Eligibility

An eligible applicant must be within approximately one year of graduating with her PhD or have obtained her PhD no earlier than 2011.

Selection Criteria

A group of 20-25 outstanding candidates will be selected from all applications submitted. 

Accommodations and Travel

MIT will cover meals and shared accommodations for two nights, and reimburse up to $600 in travel expenses (air, rail).  All workshop accommodations/venues/facilities are fully accessible


WORKSHOP COMMITTEE

Pablo Jarillo-Herrero, Chair
Mitsui Career Development Associate Professor of Physics
Department of Physics, MIT
617.253.3653 / pjarillo@mit.edu

Nikta Fakhri
Assistant Professor of Physics
Department of Physics, MIT
617.324.6727 / fakhri@mit.edu

Nergis Mavalvala
Curtis and Kathleen Marble Professor of Astrophysics and Associate Department Head of Physics
Department of Physics, MIT
617.253.5657 / nergis@ligo.mit.edu

Sara Seager
Class of 1941 Professor of Physics and Planetary Science
Department of Physics, MIT
Department of Earth, Atmospheric, & Planetary Sciences, MIT
617.253.6775 / profseager@mit.edu

Iain Stewart
Professor of Physics
Department of Physics, MIT
617.253.4848 / iains@mit.edu

Lindley Winslow
Assistant Professor of Physics
Department of Physics, MIT
617.253.2332 / lwinslow@mit.edu

Bolek Wyslouch
Professor of Physics
Department of Physics, MIT
Director, Laboratory for Nuclear Science
617.253.7800 / wyslouch@mit.edu

STAFF

For administrative requests and general questions about the workshop:

Nina Wu
Development and Events Coordinator
Department of Physics, MIT
617.253.6259 / ninawu@mit.edu

For website issues or comments:

Kimeee Heatley
Senior Web Administrative Assistant
Department of Physics, MIT
617.253.4522 / kheatley@mit.edu